hostcu.blogg.se

Asap rocky new album doomshop
Asap rocky new album doomshop










asap rocky new album doomshop

SLOWTHAI: He sent me a beatbox and I was like, “Let’s make something.” And this motherfucker beatboxed into the verse. He ain’t send that verse in, man? Because I remember when he did IGOR, he was like, “Yo, I got to get Slowthai on this.” Where is them tunes, man? Tyler ’s longing me out, you know? SLOWTHAI: As soon as I can fly, I’m there. He’s not trying to ride nobody’s wave, none of that. He’s like-minded and he has his own swag, he got his own creative vision, and he has his own style. Working with him is really fun because that’s my brother. ROCKY: If I’m going to be real with you, it’s so easy to make songs with Thai because he takes suggestions, and either he’ll take heed to it, or if he strongly feels like he doesn’t want to change it, he’s going to do what he do. UKIOMOGBE: What do you love about making songs together? SLOWTHAI: They was in hospitals on the other side of the world and they connected telepathically. ROCKY: What they be saying? Yo, these motherfuckers met back in motherfuckin’ 1999? Everyone thinks it’s some fairy tale, but it’s just natural. You said, “Yo man, I heard your album.” I was like, what the fuck? How’d you hear that shit? That was in L.A. SLOWTHAI: When I linked with you, I was high.

asap rocky new album doomshop

People are not really genuine like that, you know? I was just a fan of his shit, and with him being such a solid dude, it made it easy for us to click. He was doing shows in New York and I would pull up and be in the crowd. He was in the field holding it down, directing his own videos. By the time we all linked up, it felt regular. What I love about him and what I see parallel with us is we don’t fuck with a lot of people, so who we do fuck with is mutual, and his family, his friends was all my family, my friends. When I saw his work, I was an instant fan. JULIANA UKIOMOGBE: Do you remember where you guys first met? You can switch it up on motherfuckers all the time. Once they think they got you figured out, you just hit them over the head with some shit. Everything about what you do is so versatile. Bro, you the poster boy right now, the golden child. The brothers can’t really be with the brothers but we still strong. What’s messed up is this whole corona shit, man. ROCKY: That was in 2020, in my hotel room. SLOWTHAI: I was tripping off shrooms, man. ROCKY: You know what people don’t know and what I forgot? You recorded that song in my hotel room. Then the rest of it’s just in our heads man. You had American Psycho and Candyman in there. ROCKY: Matter of fact, we were looking at the video right now. ROCKY: We in Atlanta right now, recording. We celebrated last night when the video dropped. Last week, on the eve of his album’s release, a very excitable Slowthai connected with A$AP Rocky, who appears with him on the track “MAZZA,” to discuss their psychic bond, surviving on Mars, and the best rappers alive.Ī$AP ROCKY: My boy, Thai.

asap rocky new album doomshop

On the album’s second half, where song titles like “i tried” and “focus” appear in lower case, Slowthai is at his most contemplative, wondering how he came so close to losing it all. The first half, its tracks written in all caps, features songs like “CANCELLED” and “VEX,” the former a forceful rebuke of cancel culture, and the latter a middle finger to social media bullshit. On his sophomore album Tyron (after his birth name Tyron Kaymone Frampton), we get a little bit of both, with the 14 tracks bifurcated into two modes. It was a far cry from the brash, prankish rapper that spewed out from a flamethrower with his 2018 debut Nothing Great About Britain, or the anarchic showman who nearly torpedoed his career at the NME Awards a year later. The last time we caught up with Slowthai, he was in an introspective mood, taking us through his life story via his abundant body art.












Asap rocky new album doomshop